5 Things I Didn’t Expect in Raising Boys

Yes – I’m a girl who grew up around a lot of girl cousins. Given my family makeup, I was doubtful about having even one boy.  Being blessed with two was a complete shocker!

There are things I expected to go along with the boy territory and that don’t surprise me one bit – like tripping over toy cars, interest in insects, the ‘run-n-tackle’ hugs, the inappropriate ‘boo-boo head’ jokes, even this issue with pee on the toilet.

But I have to admit, there are other things that have thrown me for a loop.

1) Wearing my shoes.
Yes, my boy-child went through a period of constantly wanting to wear my shoes – even choosing my shoes over his dad’s. He liked the heels the most, but he’d still get into my flats as well.

2) The imaginary friend – that’s a girl.
‘She’ may not really be an imaginary friend, per se, because he doesn’t talk to ‘her’ or make me serve ‘her’ a plate of food. But every now and then, my boy-child says his name is Tracy ????

3) Talking back – at age 4!
I just thought this would be a ‘girl thing’ or at least a teenage thing! I was completely caught off guard and taken aback when my boy-child mumbled something back to me under his breath at age 4! Needless to say, I had to correct him and nip that in the bud.

4) Crying – at everything – all the time – and he’s 4!
AAAARRRGGGHHH!!! (that’s all I have to say about that one)

5) “I’m a princess – I’m a girl.”
He owns a couple over-sized t-shirts that he wears to bed. You know, the family reunion t-shirts that didn’t quite come as small we needed it. Anyway, when he puts them on, he says that he’s a girl because he’s wearing a skirt. Even after he takes a bath, he puts the towel around his head as if he has hair hanging down to his butt, and says that he is a princess. Yeah.

As with every phase, these things run their course; and we guide our children with sufficient direction and love. But I tell ya – from day-to-day – I just don’t know what’s coming next …

4 thoughts on “5 Things I Didn’t Expect in Raising Boys

  1. Pingback: Wordless Wednesday: This is so wrong! | Boy Mom Blog

Leave a Reply

