Hightail It to See Red Tails

You may have guessed it already, but just in case you didn’t know, I’m Black (African American). What you don’t know is that I’m a history buff, I grew up in Tuskegee, AL and my dad retired from the Air Force.

Therefore, you may think I’m biased… but, I cannot tell a lie – the film Red Tails was pretty good! Radio personalities encouraged listeners to take their sons to see this movie and rightly so (I think it’s good for the whole family, although I didn’t take my boys because they don’t sit through movies yet – unless it’s Cars).

I, too, suggest this as a family outing for families of all nationalities. The young boys I observed during the movie were extremely engaged, excited, and enthralled – if for no other reason – because 
1. Planes blew up
2. Buildings blew up
3. Cars blew up

But with the historical backdrop and strong motivational messages weaved in, there’s opportunity for great family discussions and learning.  I enjoyed the casting and the special effects. The story line – while not an in-depth drama – was appropriately educational, inspirational, and perfect for this movie format.

So I give it two thumbs up!

8 thoughts on “Hightail It to See Red Tails

  1. You make me laugh with the “If you didn’t know, I’m black” bit. I can tell you now, my sons would beg to differ. They’d say, more like brown. My husband is extremely strict about NOT calling people black,he doesn’t like the stereotype, and no, we’re not African American or any brown colored nationality. We’re PEACHY CREAM.

    Nevertheless, the children have always called people by their proper “color” and NEVER have they ever described to me a “black” person, it was always, “I met a brown boy at McDonalds, we had a lot of fun” (we homeschool, so, that’s a journal entry right there)

    But recently, my niece introduced us to her boyfriend Xavier, who is TRULY black and a wonderful young man, “beautiful” I call him. And my son said to me, “now he’s really black” lol. And I’m like, “yep, you’re right on that.”

    Anyway, I”m always looking for good historical types of movies, this sounds like a definite must see, thanks for the vote!

    • yes – thanks for picking up on that! Your sons are soo cute to say that … that is a whole other topic with African Americans – in terms of what we call ourselves and how it’s changed over time. There’s actually a reference to it in the movie! It was once insulting to be called ‘Black’ and the preference was ‘Negro’ … can you believe that? We come in all shades but they can’t fit all that on legal documents so they just put Black or African American 🙂 It sounds like your niece’s boyfriend is ‘dark skinned’ (see – there’s another term). None-the-less, it’s just important to keep the dialogue going so we can understand each other – PEACHY CREAM is a new one on me 🙂 Yes – it’s a good movie about the Tuskegee Airmen – I don’t know if all of those details are exactly accurate (like there’s a love story line in there) so it may not be a strict historical film – but the concept is real. Thanks for the concept!

  2. I am quite the war movie buff, so this one will be right up my alley. Although not my war of preference (as you may discover in Story Time this week), I have a lot of memories attached to WWII.

    Cannot wait to see it!
    Red.

  3. Hi. Great movie and yes, they took liberties in the story telling, but it is an important story, so whatever it takes to get it told… do it I say. The day I became a pilot, for the first time in my life I became part of a minority group (as 6% of licensed pilots are woman) so there is a special place in my heart for the Tuskegee Airman. I have done much reading about their history and their personal stories and they were one kick-ass group!

  4. My oldest son who wants to be a pilot and is enamoured with all things WWII is so excited about this film; I know it’s something that I’ll enjoy too (and so will his younger brother, who is definitely in the category of boys who loves things that blow up!).

Leave a Reply

