Boys will be Boys – really?

What do you think? Are we excusing certain behaviors exhibited by our boys – just because they are boys? I appreciate the opinion of this ‘girl mom’ Lean Green Mommy Machine and would love to hear what you think.

“I am the mother of 4 daughters and no sons so many would deem me unqualified to comment on all things related to parenting boys. To be fair, there are many aspects that I probably can’t relate to. I do, however, run an in-home daycare and my general life is about kids even apart from my work.

I do believe there are differences ingrained in each gender that naturally come through. But I also believe within each gender there are various personalities and quirks that can’t be pinned to one gender or another. I don’t believe in boy toys or girl toys or gender specific color.

All that being said, there is one thing that I hear from parents and grandparents of boys that gets my hackles up. Boys Will Be Boys.”

Read more by clicking here.

 

 

 

6 thoughts on “Boys will be Boys – really?

  1. Pingback: Double Up « Momma's Money Matters

  2. I can’t read the rest of the post….but I think definite boundaries are needed today….and children need to know what they are. I played with my brothers toys grewing up (no one discouraged me) but I know that they belonged to my brothers. And I played double dutch with the girls..which I loved.
    I know of someone who’s son wanted to wear a dress…he was allowed too….he wore it to church. This person was upset by the response. The blurring of gender lines creates confusion…and children need to be able to identify…So Boys will be Boys and I love that fact…..just let me play with the GI Joe every now and then.

    • WWHHAATTT!?!?! I think we as parents are charged with creating boundaries for our children which is a fine line that we walk in many cases – but our responsibility none-the-less. That parent could have made another choice in that matter and protected her child from the scrutiny.

  3. I hear this frequently from mothers of boys who’s boys aren’t “energetic” or “just acting like boys”, they’re brats… and brats come in either sex. Whether it be whining, hitting, screaming, thuggery, smart mouthing, etc. My boys are 100% pure boy especially at home – but out in public they’re expected to behave 100%! So when I’m out and I hear this excuse from other parents, I feel it gives growing “gentlemen” a bad name. I do agree, it’s a poor excuse for bad behavior.

  4. Pingback: Double Up | Momma's Money Matters

Leave a Reply

