Getting Rid of the Pee Smell from Leather Shoes

My boys are potty trained, thankfully, and have been for quite some time. But every few months, when play time is just too intriguing and they don’t tear themselves away in time, the boys may have an accident.

Washing pee out of clothes is no problem, it’s the shoes. This last time, I soaked the shoes in soap and warm water but the smell was still overwhelming. So, I drenched them in vinegar. Yes, vinegar.

English: children shoes

English: children shoes (Photo credit: Wikipedia)

I let those bad boys sit outside for a day and I’m happy to report that they’ve recovered without smelling like pee or vinegar (or a funny mixture of the two)! In the future, I would also try baking soda and see if I get the same results.

Do you have a remedy for getting rid of the pee smell in leather shoes?

2 thoughts on “Getting Rid of the Pee Smell from Leather Shoes

  1. I’ll file this away for PTing our youngest. I don’t know what I ever did previously. Probably just rinsed them and kept on going!

Leave a Reply

